I have been an avid reader of the iconic Elle Decoration since 1998 and it has been a huge part of keeping me informed, fuelling my passion for interiors, designs/designers, brands and ideas. Elle has seen me through my younger heady days, through bearing children and growing older, it is a magazine which crosses generations and lifestyles. I am very fond of Elle Decoration as it has enabled me to dream a little, it has encouraged me to keep a part of me for me, when children and work and other commitments have taken over. Elle Decoration has been a little reminder every month, a familiar knowing, that we share, a passion for all things interiors. I have loved every second of the London Design Festival this year and what better way to finish the week off than at the Elle Decoration Design Awards party at The Orangery, Kensington Palace Gardens. Having visited Decorex International over the weekend which was an outstanding show filled with some amazing exhibitors, I was very excited about coming back to finish the week off in style at the award show! The Orangery filled up very quickly and the champagne and canapes flowed generously. Michelle Ogundehin hushed the crowd beautifully in an instant and gave a heartfelt speech on designers and social media which touched on the power of platforms like facebook and twitter and the importance of followers and communicating from the ground up for designers and brands. It made me feel proud to be part of the network and the conversation of the design world. Michelle continues to deliver a magazine which is thriving and understands how to survive and flourish in challenging times for publishing. This lady is an inspiration.
John Lewis gave a short speech on the Design awards as they are championing some great design and then it was back to the business of drinking champagne and mingling! What a superb evening in beautiful surroundings.
Huge thank you to Decorex for the tickets – you made my week!

XX

20130926-230310.jpg 20130926-230427.jpg 20130926-230457.jpg
