I recently discovered the work of Josie Morris at the New Designers exhibition 2013 and was excited. Her minimal, industrial design struck me from a distance and on closer inspection her work is beautiful and has great commercial appeal. I wanted to find out a little bit more about her as she launches from graduate to the commercial marketplace and ask her some questions about her plans and collaborations for the future. Josie Morris is definitely a name to watch out for!

1) Were you creative as a child?

Yes I loved everything creative. My Mum says she used to preoccupy me with paints and it was always my biggest passion at school. An Art foundation at Central Saint Martins was fun and really motivated me to hard work in my degree at Northumbria.

2) When did you know you wanted to be a designer?

At school I spent most of my time in the Art department. Back then I also did a lighting project – it makes me laugh now but that’s where my love for product design started and I’ve never looked back!

3) What was the most interesting part of your degree course?

We spent all of our time in the workshops experimenting, developing our projects and making the final pieces. That hands on approach to design I loved and the amazing tutors/technicians who I couldn’t have done the degree without.

4) What were your biggest challenges whilst studying?

Pulling the project back together when everything goes wrong. Hard work is easy when you’re really passionate.

5) What did you like most about the ND2013 Show?

Winning the award from Foundry was definitely the highlight. But also being surrounded by amazing ideas and creative individuals who all share the same interest as you. New Designers is what we had all been working for the last three years so it was a week to celebrate.

6) What are your plans now?

I intern for a lighting and furniture company called Innermost and I’m also working on my own projects with other companies.

7) Have you had any interest from manufacturers since the show?

I was approached by London based company Authentics. Together we are working to launch my Handle Pendants in January 2014. I’m also short listed for an Emerging Talent award with Made.com. My Range Tables will be exhibited in their Notting Hill showroom from mid August until the end of the LDF. The winner will have their product manufactured with them – to vote please visit their showroom or Made.com

8) Are you planning on working independently or working for an organisation to get some work experience?

Both. I love my internship with Innermost and it’s amazing to work with Authentics to produce my own product as well.

9) How long did it take to make your final show piece.

I worked on each product for a number of months. But the final pieces themselves were made in about a month each – a combination of making in the workshops myself to getting help from outside manufacturers as well.

10) Tell me about your work/style.

My work is definitely minimal. I love all things simple and aim to create objects of high quality often using a mix of materials.

11) Are you collaborating with any other designers?

Not individual designers at the moment but I’d love too.

12) What are your favourite mediums to work with?

Metal is my favourite medium, I love how it can be both beautiful and industrial.

13) Who inspires your work and why?

Designers who design for the high-end commercial market – I like how their designs are high quality and always part of a range rather than a single object.

14) Describe your work.

Minimal functional refined

15) Who are your 3 favourite designers?

Muuto, Form us with Love, &tradition

16) What do you like about their work?

Beautiful, clean, functional, elegant, simple, well designed and well branded.

Here is the Josie Morris product design range:

Handle Pendants

Handle Pendants are a collective of lights that explore how scale and a common detail can be used to cre- ate a product family. The handle feature acts as a common detail amongst the family, available in a choice of grey corian or walnut wood. High quality and minimalistic in aesthetic, the copper spun shades are also available in two size options. Hung individu¬ally or in clusters the design could be a feature within a classic home interior or contemporary bar or restaurant scheme.

20130818-100101.jpg 20130818-100113.jpg 20130818-100121.jpg 20130818-100132.jpg

Range Tables

This projects explores how scale and core features can be used to create a product range. The brass acts as a common detail as well as a core component for ease of manufacture and assembly. Minimalist in aesthetic, they are designed to be high quality pieces of the home.

20130818-100314.jpg 20130818-100324.jpg 20130818-100332.jpg

Vase

These copper and oak vases are the first in a series of turned vessels that explore how form and core components can be used to create a product range. The turned oak holds a metal (copper) sleeve which in turn holds water. The copper acts as the common component that can be slotted into multiple vases. Minimalistic in aesthetic, the range is designed to be high quality pieces for the home.

20130818-100456.jpg 20130818-100504.jpg

20130818-100514.jpg</a

Josie Morris can be contacted via her website www.josiemorris.com

Good luck Josie!

